CBC and APTN score major wins on first night of Canadian Screen Awards

CBC and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) won big on the opening night of the Canadian Screen Awards on Monday.

The annual event, which recognizes excellence in Canadian film, television and digital media, began Monday and will end on Sunday, April 10. The week-long affair is hosted by the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television, with two different award categories to be presented every day.

Monday’s awards ceremonies are dedicated to nominees in the broadcast news category (airs at 7:00 p.m. ET) and in the documentary and factual categories (airs at 8:30 p.m. ET). CBC topped the broadcast news category with six wins.

Radio Canada The Fifth Power: 13 Deadly Hours received the award for Best News or Information Program. The episode offers a full account of the 2020 mass shootings across Nova Scotia. The rampage killed more than 22 people, making it the deadliest mass shooting in Canadian history.

Meanwhile, CBC’s flagship newscast The National won in the category of best national newscast, while Belle Puri of Vancouver, journalist/producer with CBC Vancouver News at 6 a.m., won the award for best local journalist.

APTN Wins Best News Series, Segment

APTN won three television news awards on CSA’s first night, including Best News or Information Series for APTN Investigates, its weekly investigative news show. (APTN)

APTN, a national broadcaster that focuses on stories about Indigenous peoples, won the award for Best News or Information Series for APTN is investigating, its weekly investigative news program. An episode of the same series, titled “The Death Report”, received the award for Best News or Information Segment.

Tina House, a reporter for APTN National News, won the award for Best National Reporter. House is a video journalist who has worked in the broadcaster’s Vancouver office since 2007.

For the third consecutive year, the Canadian Screen Awards will be presented virtually. A final ceremony will be broadcast on Sunday, April 10 on CBC and CBC Gem.

The other CBC winners in the broadcast news category are:

  • Best News Presenter, Local: Anita Bathe, CBC Vancouver News at 6 a.m.
  • Best Cinematography, News or Information: Jean-Fran├žois Bisson, The NationalUganda Gorillas and the COVID Threat
  • Best Live News Special: CBC News Special: Installation of 30th Governor General Mary Simon

Some other notable wins in the category:

  • Best Host or Interviewer, News or Information: Avery Haines, W5: A City Divided
  • Best local newscast: CTV News Toronto at 6 a.m.
  • Best News Anchor, National: Lisa LaFlamme, CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme

For a complete list of winners, visit academy.ca.