Deborah Cox, Heather Reisman and Lionel Conacher will join Canada’s Walk of Fame in 2022

Powerhouse R&B singer Deborah Cox, retail executive Heather Reisman and the late multifaceted athlete Lionel Conacher are among the names joining Canada’s Walk of Fame this year.

The first round of 2022 winners were named at the organization’s annual Music Under the Stars fundraiser Thursday night at Casa Loma in Toronto.

The three influential Canadians join inducted comedy brand Just For Laughs and special recognition given to Hamilton rock band Arkells, receiving the Allan Slaight Music Impact Honor for their contributions to music.

Organizers say more inductees will be announced in the coming weeks.

All will be celebrated at an in-person gala on December 3 at the Beanfield Center in Toronto.

CTV will air a television special of the gala at a later date.

Among this year’s inductees, Cox is best known for her 1990s R&B hits, including the dance remix hit Nobody’s supposed to be herewhile Reisman was for years one of the few female executives in the Canadian business world, building a book and housewares empire as CEO of Indigo.

Conacher, who died at 54 in 1954, won the Canadian light-heavyweight boxing championship in 1920, a year before leading the Toronto Argonauts to a Gray Cup victory, scoring 15 points in their 23-game victory. -0 on Edmonton.

Just for Laughs is an “international institution of comedy” with its festivals, television programming and other ventures.

Canada’s Walk of Fame is a national, non-profit organization that has grown from honoring inductees with etched sidewalk stars in Toronto’s entertainment district to a national series of programs and celebrations throughout the year.