Scarborough wins 3 Canadian Screen Awards, including Best Picture

critical darling Scarborough came out on top on the final night of the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards, winning Best Picture, Direction and Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role on Sunday.

Scarborough marked the feature film debuts of directors Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson, who received the Excellence in Direction award. Liam Diaz, 13, who played Bing in the film, is one of the youngest actors in Canadian Screen Awards history to win the Performance by a Leading Actor award.

The film, which premiered at the 2021 Toronto International Film Festival, tells the story of Bing, Sylvie and Laura, three children who forge a strong friendship through their shared experiences living in an underserved community.

It was adapted from Catherine Hernandez’s 2017 novel of the same name, with the author writing the screenplay for the film.

Scarborough co-directors Shasha Nakhai, left, and Rich Williamson, centre, stand with writer Catherine Hernandez on the first day of filming. Nakhai and Williamson won the 2022 Canadian Screen Award for their achievements. (Kenya-Jade Pinto/Courtesy of Compy Films)

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers won two awards on Sunday for two projects.

She won the award for a leading actress in a motion picture for her role as Niska in Danis Goulet’s dystopian allegory night raiders. The film is set in a future world where native children are taken from their families and become the wards of a brutal military state.

Tailfeathers also produced and directed Ted Rogers’ best feature documentary, Kímmapiiyipitssini: the meaning of empathy. The film chronicles the community impact of the opioid crisis on the Kainai First Nation in Alberta, where hundreds of lives have been lost to addiction.

Kind of wins Best TV Comedy, Transplantation scoops theater awards

In the television categories, Kind of wins the award for best comedy. The new series, co-written by Bilal Baig and Fab Filippo, stars Baig as a fluid millennial who straddles competing identities as a bartender, babysitter to a wealthy family, and child of Pakistani immigrants.

Kim’s Convenience actors Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and Jean Yoon were named best lead actor and actress in a comedy, respectively. The CBC comedy, about a Korean-Canadian family who own a convenience store in downtown Toronto, ended in 2021 after an acclaimed five-season run.

CTV drama Transplantation, about a Syrian refugee who works as a resident doctor in an emergency room at a Toronto hospital, swept through the drama categories; the series was named Best Drama, while Hamza Haq and Laurence Leboeuf were named Best Lead Actor and Actress in a Drama Series, respectively.

Bilal Baig is pictured as Sabi Mehboob on CBC/HBO’s Sort Of, which won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Comedy Series on Sunday. (Radio Canada)

Brooke Lynn Hytes, Traci Melchor, Amanda Brugel and Brad Goreski won Best Host or Presenter of a Factual or Reality/Competition Series for their work on the second season of Canada’s Drag Race.

The Cogeco Fund Audience Prize, awarded by the public, was awarded to drama series Wynonna Earp.

This year’s Radius Award, which recognizes the work of a Canadian film or television professional who is currently making waves globally in the film or television industry, was awarded to I have never starring Maitreyi Ramakrishnan.

The three recipients of first prize changemakergiven to media professionals who use their platform to speak out against systemic discrimination and racism, were sports commentator Kayla Grey, cultural journalist Kathleen Newman-Bremang and CBC host Amanda Parris.

Legendary sports commentator Bob Cole received the lifetime achievement award.

Hamza Haq stars in Transplant, the winner of the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards for Best Drama Series. Haq won for Lead Actor in a Drama Series, while co-star Laurence Leboeuf won for Lead Actress in a Drama Series. (CTV)

The full list of Sunday’s winners can be found below:

  • Best film : Scarborough.
  • Interpretation by a main actor: Liam Diaz, Scarborough.
  • Performance by a lead actress: Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, night raiders.
  • Directing in Directing: Shasha Nakhai and Rich Williamson, Scarborough.
  • Best Ted Rogers Documentary Feature: Kímmapiiyipitssini: the meaning of empathy.
  • Best Comedy Series: Kind of.
  • Best Leading Actor, Comedy: Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience.
  • Best Leading Actress, Comedy: Jean Yoon, Kim’s Convenience.
  • Best Drama Series: Transplantation.
  • Best Leading Actor, Drama: Hamza Haq, Transplantation.
  • Best Leading Actress, Drama: Laurence Leboeuf, Transplantation.
  • Best Host or Presenter, Factual or Reality/Competition: Brooke Lynn Hytes, Traci Melchor, Amanda Brugel and Brad Goreski, Canada’s Drag Race.
  • Cogeco Fund Audience Award: Wynonna Earp.
  • Radius Award: Maitreyi Ramakrishnan.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Cole.
  • Changemaker Award: Kayla Grey, Kathleen Newman-Bremang and Amanda Parris.
  • Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism: Rassi Nashalik.