4 provinces are moving forward with their plan to build small nuclear reactors to supply electricity

Four provincial governments are moving forward with a plan to develop nuclear energy in Canada.

Saskatchewan, Ontario, New Brunswick and Alberta have published their strategic plan to develop the nuclear industry through the development of small modular reactors (SMR).

The provinces claim that the reactors provide residents with a safe and clean source of energy.

Don Morgan, minister responsible for SaskPower in Saskatchewan, said the utility’s collaboration with Ontario Power Generation “has laid a strong foundation for nuclear power…to support significant reductions in Canada’s GHG emissions to ultimately achieve net zero by 2050”.

The provinces’ strategic plan aims to position Canada as a global exporter of PRM technology for use in on-grid and off-grid applications.

The report highlights the need for a “robust” nuclear waste management program and a strong regulatory framework.

The plan follows an earlier feasibility study on using SMR technology to power Canada while reducing GHG emissions.